TESTIMONIALS

Kelly Chester

December 2015

 

Yin YangI attended Harolds Yin Yang class for eleven years. I would still be attending if I still lived in London. I left four years ago when I had my little boy.When I started Harolds class I was recovering from a car accident and also suffered with nervous Exhaostion. I was also doing Iyenga Yoga and both really helped me to get back to optimal health. It was a slow process and took a couple of years to until I felt well again and get back my strength mentally and physically.

I always enjoyed the classes and ran a few classes myself for people with physical disabilities. and decided to become a trainer myself.

My Diploma in fitness had Pilates as part of it and I did not want to do Pilates as I have aways been a yogi.I did the course and did not realise how much Pilates I was already doing in Yin Yang. I am now teaching Yin Yang my self and it is slowly building momentum in Grimsby. They love the free style nature of the classes and never know what to expect.

My clients are really looking forward to Harold coming to do a workshop in Grimsby.

 

Big thank you Harold :)

 

Kelly ChesterPilates,

Yin Yang, Personal Trainer and Nutrition www.nononsensefitness.co.uk

Tayo Abioye

December 2015

 

I recommend Harold's yoga class to everyone I know and every new person I meet because it is genuinely fantastic class! I discovered just how effective Harold's class was after a short hiatus following consistent weekly practice, I soon found that the strength and flexibility I had built was quick to slip away. Now I am back and am attending as many classes as possible as after every class I feel fantastic and revel in my progress (no matter how small).

My sister and I always joke that this yoga is like medicine.

And although you follow Harold in his class as part of a group, I have always found his way of teaching is such that it almost feels personalized to each and every person in attendance, as he encourages everyone to progress at the their own pace but always beyond any self imposed limits, meaning progress and development in the yoga practice is for me always evident after every session.

 Rosaria Trivellini

 02 March 2016

 

In October 2014 I've had a surgery to remove a Morten's Neuroma in my right foot which for years had been causing significant pain, stress, and postural defects. I had been limping for so long that my body did not remember how to walk straight anymore.

Post surgery, I was experiencing even more pain in the foot in addition to a persistent lower back pain. Lying down for weeks didn't help either. Of course the doctor's advice was to take painkillers, but I am allergic to most of them, especially Codeine, so I had to endure the pain.

After endless appointments with chiropractors, physiotherapists and undergoing several acupuncture sessions I still experienced pain and discomfort either when walking or sitting down. It was so frustrating!

Eventually, few months ago an MRI scan revealed a consistent inflammation and two slipped vertebras in the coccyx area. The only other option at this point would be to have a localized cortisone injection to numb the pain as I had in the past in my foot, but regretfully it did not work and the pain worsened.Just before my surgery I had joined Coggins Yin Yang Yoga class, but due to endless work commitments and health issues I rarely attended until one day I decided to go back and stick to it.. That was the best decision I ever made!Immediately I was impressed with Harold professionalism, friendly approach and ability to convey trust and assurance that one's body can heal if we allow it , make some efforts and put our minds into it. His dedication to help others and his self discipline is admirable.I now attend the Yoga classes regularly, including the over 50's class, at different times to fit in with my hectic work schedule. My back and foot pain have drastically improved and I feel born again. Thanks to Harold Coggins I have overcome limitations on what my body can do and I have learned that healing is, indeed, mind over matter. I enjoy being pain free full of vitality and not as stiff as I used to be!

Chev J

December 2015

 

I have been doing Harold ' s yoga for just over a year now and it has improved my practice immensely. Having practiced ashtanga yoga for about 5 years on and off prior to Harold class I could not understand why my flexibility and strength was not improving. Any class that I attended the teacher would say that I was really advanced but I knew that I had lots more to learn and that I could achieve more.

Harold has shown me that I was correct. I'm every class there is a new challenge he encourages me to try different things and to push myself more. In his class I am not advanced but I know that if I continue to attend and practice at home I will be. Harold takes time out for each of his students and manages to know exactly what you need to adjust or when you are not trying without moving from the spot. This class will benefit anyone who enjoys yoga and we constantly hear good reviews from people who have had ailments rectified.

Sandra Muh

December 2015

 

My yoga teacher, Harold shares his passion for yoga in each class without ever pushing but encouraging movement and opening up the body. He is very skilful and patient when explaining the moves.

My favorite part of class is the spiritual lesson that he weaves into practice and teaching to connect the mind to the body. And importantly addresses imbalance by doing opposite movements thus avoiding injury. I am growing into a greater relationship with my body and enjoying this journey. During the yoga workshop my first 4 hour I had a great time stretching my body and relaxing that night I slept soundly.

Cheryl G

Decenber 2015

 

When all else failed....

I went to Harold's class following a routine gym induction and tour. Having had surgery to my right hip, despite regular Physio for over a year I was not able to walk or stand for long periods without experiencing back pain and discomfort. I regretted the surgery I had as I was promised significant results, which did not materialise. I knew I had to get fitter and Harold recommended I sign up to his classes which I did, attending 2-3 classes a week.

What amazed me most about Harold's class is the simplicity and ease by which he demonstrates and helps you to learn the various Asana's. I knew nothing about yoga and found every position difficult at first due to my surgery but Harold took extra time with me to help me focus, paying particular attention to my weak and stronger areas and building my confidence and core strength over time. I continued my Physio sessions once a week while doing Harold's classes. After 12 weeks, my physiotherapist told me that I was 'too strong' and there was little benefit in carrying on with the weekly sessions. I was advised to carry on doing what I was doing and only come back if I had any problems. Such was the change in my posture, my core strength and my flat stomach my Physio advised me that they were going to return back to yoga themselves. Harold's Yoga has increased my core strength. Within a few months I felt the difference in my hip and lower back. I am completely pain free and no longer experience the back pain I had at the start of the year. I had two separate physio's for over a year and did not achieve these results. I thoroughly recommend Harold, his yoga workshops really work when all else failed...

 

Laurence Richard

Dec 2015

Inspiring Teacher

 

I couldn’t recommend highly enough Coggin’s Yog.a classes.
Harold has a gift for enthusing students and adapting for all abilities so you can improve whatever your initial strengths and weaknesses are. He’s incredibly skilful and passionate, and he will make you dig deeper in yourself and encourage you to reach new height & level, you thought would not be possible. He is a very generous and genuine person who cares about his students.

I have followed his classes for many years, and I have learned valuable mobility techniques and poses, that have helped me with stress relief and deal with minor defects. Despite a very busy work schedule, every time I attend his class, I feel incredibly revitalised afterwards with a sense of peacefulness

Camella Kathel

Jan 2016

 

Unique, magical, inspirational experience every time!

Harold's yoga classes have significantly improved my life quality, in health, focus, direction and much, much more both in and out of the class! When I started Harold's yoga classes as a beginner 3 years ago it was the safe, calm yet focused energy that attracted me back again and again and his teaching style of demonstrating everything while holding and explaining the poses, particularly the benefits of each, encouraged my deeper practice and discipline greatly.

Harold is extremely knowledgeable and cares about each pupil growing in some way in every practice. His classes are well thought out, always interesting and his music is inspiring. Harold's yoga really does touch the mind, body and spirit in a truly magical way. I learned to use Harold's yoga as a meditation in class, my sanctuary, as in addition to the warm energy he brings, nothing is rushed and everything is possible. Since I moved out of London, Harold's unique energy has been sorely missed!

 

 

ChristineMacdougall

10 Jun 2017

I had the honour of meeting Harold at a workshop in Grimsby, and at the time was struggling to sit back on my heels as I was experiencing a great deal of pain in my left knee.
After much manipulation and massage from Harold, and showing me some stretches to do on a regular basis, I can say I can now sit back on my heels without any pain. Harold certainly knows his stuff. I would highly recommend him. Thank you Harold x

 

Shelly Steer

Mar 2016


My wife has been going to Harold's classes for over 4 years. Before starting his classes she used to regularly suffer back problems that could put her in bed for a couple of days. Those episodes are now a thing of the past! What Harold can do for you is amazing, his workouts are great and really deliver great positive results.

 

Track E Kelly

1 Jun 2017

I had a great workshop with Harold in Grimsby. I am not the most supple person. Years ago I did ballet, and flamenco and was super bendy. Harold's workshop was an eye opener but with Harold's encouragement I pushed through some of the hard moves. Harold also showed me what my body was capable of and since the workshop I can bend down and touch the ground whereas before I could not. I love the Yin Yang system and I continue to attend classes in Grimsby with Kelly. I highly recommend Harold and his work. Thanks Harold.

 

Kev Sutton

Feb 2016

 

My health and strength has improved so much over the last few months.... The classes help keep focus and I have confidence to practice in my own time. If you interested in refocusing and take time to look after yourself ... Check this out smile emoticon
 

 

Winnie HinchCliffe

Jan 2016

 

Best Yoga Class Ever

! !I have had worsening pain and problems with my back and knees for four
years .I could not walk properly or bend my knees , and definitely not do a squat !I started attending Harold's yoga classes two years ago , and now my flexibility and strength is better than I have ever known .Harold has a gift of healing and caring for people ,and I highly recommend his class teachings to all !!!

 

 

Armando Mendez

Jan 2016

 

A meditation of the body and the mind

 

Harold's classes are complete meditation of the body and the mind.
Since the first class I realized how my perception, my focus and my balance were improving, my body strengthening, healing and connecting with the mind. I carry the learning and the memory through every day.

 

Sylvia

Feb 2016

 

 

No Nonsense Yoga

'No Nonsense Yoga' is for me the most appropriate description for Harold Coggins' methods. He has mastered his yoga art to perfection. More important for his clients is attention to detail and personalised programmes specifically designed to individual needs. How do I know this? I'm one of Harold's clients who currently benefit from his programme specifically tailored to my needs. In addition not only have I read reviews of others, I have seen is varied skills in action.

My background is 15 years of inactivity following a stroke. I was a very independent professional struck down in my early fifties by a stroke resulting in right sided paralysis of the body. With sheer gut determination I recovered the use of my right arm and body movements. Unfortunately from knee to toe was left in 85% paralytic state. NHS Physio limit input and support to telling/showing you what to do within a restricted time period, and a maintenance goal rather than total recovery. The impact on any independent individual is so devastating, inevitable depression sets in, in context of resignation and 'whats the point'. In my case, having got my hand back from total paralysis, I have secretly believed with the right skilled help, I would recover my foot too. I've been resigned to a mobility scooter for years without any real effort on my own part to rehabilitate my foot. I have been using the FES (Functional Electrical Stimulation) for drop foot, provided by Physio which as prevented my foot from receding into total paralysis. Following many falls and fractures my daughter contracted Harold to assess and design a personal programme to help me recover my foot. Her motivation followed her own recovery from back injury via Harold's yoga programme. Many varied specialists had previously failed to help her. My own experience with NHS Physio was so negative, I must admit to being skeptical regarding the impending programme. Today improvements dictate that I was wrong, Harold makes it very clear that progress is limited to how much you personally want to achieve.Without ownership for the programmed, personal dedication, hard work and consistency you cannot achieve your goal no matter how good the programme is. He tolerates no excuses. During a stressful phase of flooding and no central heating, my explanation of not being able to do the exercises was seen as nothing but an excuse. His view was that life is full of such possibilities; that can be articulated as excuses for not doing something. However if that something is important enough, you will find a way of doing it. That was an excellent motivator for me. I now follow the programme regardless of day to day stresses or other commitments. Early morning is regular for me but on occasions when this isn't possible, I must fit the exercises in some how even if its last thing before bed. As I live over 100 miles from Harold's group therapy sessions, this new self discipline and regular reporting is, like Harold, a God send.


Sylvia
Feb/12/2016

Vee Smith-Williams

March 2016

 

I started attending Harold's over 50's Yoga classes in February 2015, I had not practice Yoga before and was a little unsure if I would be able to fully benefit from his classes. I have been disabled most of my childhood and all of my adult life, some 47 years. For the past 15 years I have suffered chronic knee and lower back pain.

Prior to taking Harold's classes I was taking 1200mg of prescribed pain killers and 1000mg of over the counter pain killers daily and every three months pain injections into my lower back. Since taking Harold's classes with his help and guidance I have developed numerous techniques that has helped me to manage my pain and has resulted in a significant reduction in the amount of pain killers I take daily.

Recently after a very demanding hospital visit I attended class as usual, I was in tremendous pain and questioned my judgement in attending class. I let Harold know that I was not feeling great and in a lot of pain, he proceeded with the class but with the emphasis on back pain. I would stress that I am not the only member of class who suffers with back pain. This class proved to be very tough and challenging for me however by the end of the session the level of pain I was in had reduced significantly, throughout Harold encourage me to put my fear aside and follow his instructions and it paid off.

Harold classes have helped me more than I ever thought possible, his passion for helping is genuine, I trust him and his methods completely and would recommend him to anyone thinking about taking Yoga classes.

 

Thank you Harold

 

 

 

Bozena

Jan 2016

 

 

How it all started

I met Harold in August 2015 at MiniBody Therapy Centre in Forest Hill where I attended his yoga-pilates classes. As a beginner I was worried about not being able to follow the routine and lagging behind the rest of the class. However, my anxiety dispelled completely with the first session. Harold made me feel comfortable and at ease with what I cannot do. The weekly sessions were dedicated to strengthening core muscles in particular. Harold was attending to everyone in the group.

He made us work hard and stretch our limits. I felt this deep awakening of all my muscles and my body as a whole. The next two days after the first session I suffered muscle sores in my stomach like never before. After the second session it was even worse. I had to do something to avoid those sores and so I joined a gym. The muscles sores were gone.This way Harold inspired a change to my entire life style.

It was during these sessions that I first realised the wide range of Harold's therapeutic qualities. One day a lady with a back pain came to the class. Harold alleviated the pain by manipulating her legs. While he was doing this she was grunting with pain. It was one of Harold's techniques - treating pain with another pain - in action. At the end of the session the lady smiled with relief. From then on she attended the classes regularly and said that Harold made a huge difference in improving her back.

Since this initial experience with Harold in Forest Hill I have been attending his classes in Lewisham and Beckenham as well as his monthly yoga workshops. Each of his sessions brings something new and unexpected. Harold continues to be a generous person and passionate teacher sensitive to individual needs even in big groups. It seems that he intuitively knows who needs this extra push or a reassuring word.

 

 

Hester

Jan 2016

 

Also good during pregnancy

 

I've been going to Harold's class for six years now and think it's very good. His classes are challenging no matter how many years you've been going. His classes are also very versatile and he always motivates people to go that little bit further, without being too pushy. I like how Harold is very precise about each pose - he explains in detail what the learning points are and how to do each pose correctly to get the maximum benefit of each pose.

I continued going to Harold's classes during my two pregnancies. I kept going every Sunday up until the day my babies were born. Harold has been very good at giving me alternative poses or the necessary adjustments to poses where necessary. I think going to a yoga class like Harold's during pregnancy has kept my body and mind strong and has been a very good preparation for giving birth. Harold quite often says 'Breathe deeply, gracefully and continually' and this 'mantra' came in very handy during labour. I'm sure his class has also helped me get back into shape after giving birth.


I'd very much recommend Harold's yoga classes.

Micheline Taylor

1st March 2016

I think the YinYan yoga practised with Harold Coggins is effective and brilliant. His knowledge of the body and his defects as well as what to do to help combat the defects is working and I personally have improved my body , my suppleness and general health have improved. I am over 70 and attend his yoga workshops monthly. He has been an inspiration to me and my companion James as well as the other over fifties in the class
Micheline Taylor

Coggins Ultimate Well Being Registered in England, Company No 9058313    Registered Office: Cambridge House, 32 Padwell Road, Southampton, Hampshire SO14 6QZ


harold.coggins@gmail.com Tel: 07802 852 659
 

© Coggins Wellbeing System. all rights reserved.